Thursday, November 10, 2005

MLS Player of the Year

It will not be official till this afternoon, but it looks like the MLS has selected their Player of the Year. And the winner is...

Taylor Twellman.

He beat out last year's runner-up Jaime Moreno of DC United and BASA winner Dwayne De Rosario of San Jose. Twellman becomes the first American-born winner since Tony Meola won it in 2000. By the way, Meola lead the Wizards to their first (and perhaps only) MLS Cup that year. Isn't New England looking for their first cup this year?

I must say, I am a bit surprised by this one. Twellman had a great year but De Rosario was better. He took control of the midfield for San Jose while maintaining his ability to threaten on offense. He is a big reason the Earthquakes were the team that they were this year. As far as Moreno, he also had a wonderful year, but I don't think he was as necessary to his team as the other two were to theirs.

Anyway, congratulations to Taylor Twellman, your MLS Player of the Year!


Post a Comment

<< Home