Saturday, September 01, 2007

2007 Week 22 Quick Labor Day Predictions

The final weekend of summer is here and it gives us a slate of five quality MLS matches.

Chicago Fire vs. New York Red Bulls
Sat - 7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT
The Fire are playing some of the best ball in the league at the moment thanks to the work of Blanco but can he do it on turf? New York does well when rested but they will need another great night from Jozy Altidore to take this one.
Predictions: Me CF 2-1 NY, Wife CF 1-2 NY

DC United vs. FC Dallas
Sat - 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT
Will Denilson get his first MLS minutes tonight and will it be what FCD needs to finally become a killer team? Toja is close to being back from injury, but probably will not see much (if any) time in this one. United is playing up to their standard of late so expect this one to be a great one.
Predictions: Me DC 3-1 FCD, Wife DC 1-0 FCD

KC Wizards vs. Houston Dynamo
Sat - 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT
TV: Fox Soccer Channel (30min pre & post)
Both of these teams come limping into this one however KC's limp is much more noticeable. Houston is having problems scoring due in part to injuries. With Ching, Davis, Dalglish and Holden likely out, their bench will be stretched. The Wizards, however, have cratered of late, as they often do late in the season. They have also failed to get goals or really defend. The defeat on Wednesday to Real will probably leave them a little tired both physically and mentally so Houston should be able to run them.
Predictions: Me KC 0-2 HD, Wife KC 0-1 HD

Real Salt Lake vs. LA Galaxy
Sat - 10pm ET/7pm PT
The battle fore worst in the league takes place in LA. Real enter this one on a winning streak while LA can barely make it to the pitch with enough players. It is an open secret that LA's season is over so now the question is just how bad will it end up being? If they lose to Real, the only answer to this will be total devastation. Sadly, I think Real and their new trio of imports will prove too much for their hurting defense.
Predictions: RSL 1-0 LA, Wife RSL 0-2 LA

Colorado Rapids vs. Columbus Crew
Sun - 3pm ET/12pm PT
This might just be the biggest match up of the weekend as these are two of the three clubs fighting for the final playoff spot. The Rapids have actually been playing strong of late while the Crew have cooled. However, I'm still not convinced that Colorado's recent run doesn't have more to do with poor outings by other sides then their own improvement so I think Columbus will take this one at home.
Predictions: Me CR 0-2 CC, Wife CR 1-2 CC

Labels: ,


Blogger Pitch to Pub said...

After watching United wipe the pitch with FCD last night, it is clear to me that no matter how much offensive fire power FCD brings to the squad, as long as they have a group of scrubs in the back 4, they are going to give up cheap goals, and not control possession to give the offensive talent a chance to capitalize.

Does anyone have a solid defender? Will give you Ruiz for him!

12:06 PM  
Blogger Pitch to Pub said...

How about these guys. Any fans of these clubs with an opinion?

Ruiz for:
Bornstein (Chivas)
Dunivant (Toronto)
Heyduk (Columbus)
Albright (LA)
Conrad (KC)

12:20 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home