Friday, June 22, 2007

2007 MLS Week 12 Predictions

So far week 12 has kept the scoring trend of week 11 alive with 7 goals produced from the first 2 matches. Will this continue or will the specter of the hated 0-0 tie return? We will see, but the good news is none of these games happen at the same moment as the Gold Cup final. Anyway, here are the predictions:

Toronto FC (4-6-1) vs. New England Revolution (5-2-4)
Saturday 7:30pm ET/ 4:30pm PT
TV: Direct Kick
Internet: MLStv
Can Toronto open a long road trip with the same intensity they show at home? Will the Revs recover from back-to-back weak ties? The big T's come into town as one of the hottest teams in MLS but they have yet to prove themselves on the road. Meanwhile the Revs are doing a great job of not finishing teams off (sounds a little like Team America). This one could get spicy with overtones of the US-Canada match still fresh on folks minds.
Predictions: Me TFC 1-2 NE, Wife TFC 0-1 NE

FC Dallas (7-6-1) vs. Colorado Rapids (4-5-3)
Saturday 9:00pm ET/ 6pm PT
TV: Direct Kick
Internet: MLStv
Will Ruiz be enough to inspire the FCD offense? Can Colorado get any points in the month of June? Dallas is lacking a lot up top at the moment while the Rapids are just lacking. So far this season, Colorado has only scored more then one goal in two of their 12 matches, but with Dallas still suffering from the decade long defensive problems, they should have a couple chances to change that on Saturday. FCD will need a great showing out of Ruiz and some help from others if they want to kick the Rapids while they are down.
Predictions: Me FCD 1-1 CR, Wife FCD 2-1 CR

DC United (5-3-2) vs. Real Salt Lake (0-5-6)
Saturday 9:30pm ET/6:30pm PT
TV: Fox Soccer Channel (30 minute pre & post shows), FSE
Can DC get some more points before the Copa takes so many away? Can Real really go three months without a win in MLS play? United are coming together like so many of us thought they would at the start of the season. Their midfield is starting to be feared and their wing play is dangerous. Real, on the other hand, is actually coming more unstuck with every match. They will need to play a near perfect match to get something out of this, but it could happen. Last year Real knocked DC for a loss just a bit before the All-Star game, can it happen again?
Prediction: Me DC 3-1 RSL, Wife DC 2-1 RSL

Columbus Crew (2-4-6) vs. LA Galaxy (2-4-3)
Saturday 10:30pm ET/7:30pm PT
TV: HDNet, Direct Kick
Internet: MLStv
Can the Crew spring themselves from the basement of the East? Will LA continue score more then one goal in two consecutive matches? The strangest thing about this game is that both teams enter on a winning streak. Granted the streak is exactly one game for both sides, but it is still a streak. Columbus has looked reborn over their last two outings and is not beating themselves. The Galaxy are making big chances which means the players don't really know each other, but then again, neither does the opposition. LA is willing to give up some of their back to push forward and that should pay off against Columbus.
Predictions: Me CC 1-2 LA, Wife CC 1-3 LA

Houston Dynamo (6-5-1) vs. KC Wizards (6-3-2)
Sunday 5pm ET/2pm PT
TV: TeleFutura
Can Houston make it five in a row? If KC can't beat Columbus how will the knock off a hot Houston side? The Houston bench has been fantastic, but will that chance with the return of the Canadian duo (that is if they actually see action on Saturday)? The goals that once were so far away from the club (they scored 5 in their first 8) now can knock anything in from anywhere (10 goals in their last 4). To stop this, KC will need to step up their defense in a major way. The good news for the Wizards, they normally do that at home.
Prediction: Me HD 2-2 KC, Wife HD 1-0 KC

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home