Wednesday, August 10, 2005

Bruce Arena's Top 20 for Trinidad & Tobago

US Men's National Team Manager Bruce Area has selected his 20 players for next weeks match against Trinidad & Tobago. Here is the list by position:

Goalkeepers (3) – Kevin Hartman (Los Angeles Galaxy), Tim Howard (Manchester United), Kasey Keller (Borussia Moenchengladbach)

Defenders (5) – Chris Albright (Los Angeles Galaxy), Gregg Berhalter (Energie Cottbus), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liege), Greg Vanney (FC Dallas)

Midfielders (8) – Chris Armas (Chicago Fire), DaMarcus Beasley (PSV Eindhoven), Bobby Convey (Reading FC), Eddie Lewis (Leeds United), John O’Brien (ADO Den Haag), Santino Quaranta (D.C. United), Steve Ralston (New England Revolution), Claudio Reyna (Manchester City),

Forwards (4) – Jeff Cunningham (Colorado Rapids), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Brian McBride (Fulham FC), Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)

So what is different from the Gold Cup? Eddie Johnson and Pat Noonan are off the list (Johnson is still recovering and Noonan has an angle sprain), but Jeff Cunningham and Brain McBride are on it. In addition, the midfielders are a little different with Eddie Lewis, Santino Quaranta and Claudio Reyna being added while Donovan moved to the forward position. The defenders will be without Eddie Pope, but they will have Chris Albright in his place. Then there are the goalkeepers. Keller is still there, but gone are Reis and Hahnemann. I'm guessing Arena will stay with Keller, but one has to wonder if he might sub him out early in the second half (if the US is leading) just to see what these other guys can do.

This is a solid lineup and should make for a great match.

US vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Wednesday, August 17th
8pm EST
East Hartford, Conn.
ESPN2 will broadcast it live
Tickets still available

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home