Friday, August 17, 2007

2007 Week 20 Predictions

After about a month without a full slate, this weekend sees the closest thing MLS can get to such an outing. Twelve of the thirteen teams play this weekend with Sunday being the day were the big guns meet, but a most eyes will be focused on New York Saturday night when LA comes into town. It should be a fun weekend of soccer.

Chivas USA (8-6-3) vs. Toronto FC (5-10-5)
Saturday 3:30pm ET/12:30pm PT
TV: Direct Kick
Internet: MLStv
The team who cannot win on the road versus the team that cannot lose at home. Okay, it is not a hundred percent true, but that is the way these teams shape up. Toronto is still soft due to injuries while Chivas has had about a month off from MLS play. If I was a betting man, I'd point to a Chivas win however, I'm just a blogger so I think TFC will find a way to pull something out.
Predictions: Me CV 1-1 TFC, Wife CV 0-1 TFC

DC United (9-6-3) vs. Columbus Crew (6-6-8)
Saturday 7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT
TV: HDNet, Direct Kick
Internet: MLStv
United looked less then a team against LA in SuperLiga, but without Beckham on the pitch, will they be able to recover? The Crew has been clicking really nicely of late but the United of recent MLS play will take a lot to beat. My guess is the Crew finds a way to take United to task.
Predictions: Me DC 1-2 CC, Wife DC 2-1 CC

Los Angeles Galaxy (3-7-5) vs. New York Red Bulls (9-7-3)
Saturday 7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT
TV: Fox Soccer Channel (30-minute pre&post), FSE
In a lot of ways, this game might decide LA's season. Will they show up the way they did in SuperLiga or will they play like they did last week against New England? Beckham changed the match on Wednesday but will he be able to do it three days later, on the other side of the continent and on turf? NY is old, but they have had a lot of time off of late, which should give them the upper hand, but LA might just be a new team.
Predictions: LA 2-1 NY, Wife LA 1-0 NY

Chicago Fire (5-8-5) vs. Real Salt Lake (2-9-6)
Saturday 9pm ET/6pm PT
TV: Direct Kick
Internet: MLStv
Chicago has kicked it up of late but it has not transferred into a full three points. They are finding ways to control the middle, but they have not pushed it up top. Real is playing the best soccer of the year (if not their history), but they are still a lose luck kind of team. If Blanco is not pressured, he will have a huge game against Real.
Predictions: Me CF 3-1 RSL, Wife CF 2-0 RSL

FC Dallas (11-6-3) vs. Houston Dynamo(10-7-4)
Sunday 7pm ET/4pm PT
TV: Galavision
This match very easily could decide the winner of the Western Conference. Houston is coming off a rough couple of weeks and will probably still be a little tired from their SuperLiga outing. FC Dallas has had a full week off but is still hurting due to injury. FCD proved that they are a full team last weekend, but they do not play well on the road to Houston. The Dynamo should get their first win for their new jersey sponsor.
Predictions: Me FCD 0-2 HD, Wife FCD 1-2 HD

New England Revolution (10-5-6) vs. Kansas City Wizards (8-6-5)
Sunday 8pm ET/5pm PT
TV: Direct Kick
Internet: MLStv
KC might be in fourth place, but they stand a real could chance of challenging for the top of the East, but to get their they must beat NE. KC has found new ways of scoring thanks to Eddie Johnson pulling defenders towards him. The Revs are hurting, as showed by their total crap performance against the Rapids, but they seldom fall twice in a row. However, I think Sunday is the day the Revs drop another one.
Prediction: Me NE 0-1 KC, Wife NE 2-0 KC

Labels: ,

1 Comments:

Anonymous Andre Botelho - Youth Soccer Coaching Blog said...

I'd like to congratulate you for the great and valuable information provided in this blog. All the best.

7:18 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home