Monday, November 21, 2005

The goal Bahrain feels they scored against Trinidad and Tobago

For those of you that have not seen the footage of the goal Bahrain feels should count, here is a link provided by US Soccer.

As you can see, the keeper does drop the ball, but that is only because he is about to kick it. As anyone who has watch a soccer match before knows, goaltenders do this action over and over in any given match. However, Bahrain says that the keeper has lost control of the ball, thus allowing their player to go after it.

As US Soccer points out (some CONCACAF love), FIFA rules dictate that "Once the goalkeeper has gained possession (also known as "control") of the ball, an opponent may not interfere with or block the goalkeeper's distribution of the ball." Since he was in the process of distributing the ball when the opposition's player kicks it away, it is a foul. For anyone to say otherwise is dishonest. If FIFA had overturned this decision, every time a goalie went to kick a ball, the other side would attack them.

FIFA was right, Bahrain was wrong and Trinidad and Tobago heads to the World Cup.



Blogger Kevin said...

Bah-rain are just sore losers. That supposed bah- rain goal was something out of my highschool days.

12:41 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home