Wednesday, October 04, 2006

CONCACAF Women's Gold Cup dates set

The dates have been set for this year's Women's Gold Cup, which will also act as a qualifying games for the 2007 Women's World Cup.

The tournament will run November 19-26 and will feature teams from Canada, USA, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama and Trinidad & Tobago.

On November 19th, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama and Trinidad & Tobago will play at Tropical Park Stadium in Miami, Fla.* The winner of these games will advance to the semifinals on Wednesday, November 22nd, at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. where the teams will face either Canada or the USA.

The winners of the semifinals will earn a trip to the World Cup in China. They will also advance to the finals on November 26th. The losers will play in a third place match with the winner of that game earning a home and away playoff against Asian third-place finisher Japan for a berth to the World Cup.

The US has won both the 2000 and 2002 Women's Gold Cups.

* A draw will be held on October 9th to decide which teams play each other.



Post a Comment

<< Home