Wednesday, October 18, 2006

2006 MLS awards finalists

The big list has been released. Here are the nominations for all the 2006 MLS awards.

Rookie of the Year
Mehdi Ballouchy - Real Salt Lake
Jonathan Bornstein - Chivas USA
Sacha Kljestan - Chivas USA

MLS Comeback Player of the Year
Chris Armas - Chicago Fire
Alecko Eskandarian - D.C. United
Richard Mulrooney - FC Dallas

Goalkeeper of the Year
Joe Cannon - Colorado Rapids
Troy Perkins - D.C. United
Matt Reis - New England Revolution

Global Fair Play - Individual
Chris Klein - Real Salt Lake
Justin Mapp - Chicago Fire
Steve Ralston - New England Revolution

MLS Coach of the Year
Bob Bradley - Chivas USA
Peter Nowak - D.C. United
Dave Sarachan - Chicago Fire

MLS Defender of the Year
Bobby Boswell - D.C. United
Jose Burciaga Jr. - Kansas City Wizards
Jimmy Conrad - Kansas City Wizards

MLS Most Valuable Player
Jeff Cunningham - Real Salt Lake
Dwayne De Rosario - Houston Dynamo
Christian Gomez - D.C. United

Referee of the Year Finalists
Brian Hall
Michael Kennedy
Ricardo Salazar

Can't say I'm shocked by any of these, but I am a little surprised to see Jimmy Conrad on the defender of the year list. He was good, but was he really better then Chris Albright or Craig Waibel? Also, Conrad only played 15 games for KC this season. Doesn't make much sense to me.

Joe Cannon getting a nod for goalkeeper also surprises me. He has the highest goals against averages in the league (1.55) for any regular starter and doesn't seem to have a great control over his backline. He has made the fourth or fifth most stops this year, but when you allow 42 goals, one has to wonder. He does have a good number of shutouts (7), but I just don't see it this year.



Blogger scaryice said...

Hey Mike, I sent you an email about the BASA's a couple days ago. Just wanted to remind you that the ballot is due before the first playoff game on Saturday. Thanks.

Oh, and Joe Cannon deserved to be nominated. Definitely. Even though he cheats on pks.

3:13 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home