Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Brazil and Germany to host World Cups

The country that inspired the colors used on the World Cup trophy will indeed host the finals in 2014. Fifa made official what people have known for years when they voted today to award the South American giants the honor of having the games.

Brazil has a little less than seven years to renovate/build stadiums and improve transportation issues, hopefully not at the cost of social programs for their people.

But Brazil was not the only country to earn a World Cup, as 2006 World Cup hosts Germany will again take on the role for the 2011 Women's World Cup. The decision came down to Canada (host of the 2007 U-20 World Cup) and Germany, but really, it was Germany's all along. This should give the German women an even greater chance of a three-pete.

Congratulations to Brazil and Germany.

Labels: , , , ,


Blogger Christopher said...

Get psyched for 2014!!! You got your ticket to Brazil yet??

Check out this post about the 2014 World Cup: http://www.transparent.com/TLBlog/Portuguese/2007/10/top-ten-reasons-brazil-will-host-2014-world-cup.html


1:49 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Dammit! I wanted Canada to host the WWC so that they would finally build that waterfront stadium in Vancouver, which would possible lead to an MLS team. Oh well.

6:11 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home