Wednesday, June 06, 2007

2007 Concacaf Gold Cup - Group C Preview

Going into things, it looks like Group C is the most difficult of the three groups. Mexico should win it, but Honduras and Panama could spring some surprises and Cuba might make an unlikely splash on the tournament.

Cuba
Fifa rank - 71
Important players - Lester Moré , um....
Odds of advancing from group - 5 to 1
Another Concacaf team made up of unknowns, every group has to have one. Anyway, Cuba leaves has many holes, but they always seem to get at least one goal. Their luck this year might have to do with scheduling as they face Mexico first. If they can catch them off their guard, they might get a point. Still, their chances of making it through are weak. On a side note, it will be interesting to see if any players defect as Alberto Delgado and Rey Ángel Martínez did in 2002.

Honduras
Fifa rank - 55
Important players - Amado Guevara, Ivan Guerrero, Carlos Costly
Odds of advancing from the group - 3 to 1
Honduras is another one of those teams that is always lurking just below something really good. They have good touches and like to push the attack but suffer from defensive errors. With star Amado Guevara having nothing but time to prepare for this match, he shouldn't be tired but he also might not be game fit and that might be what their chances of advancing come down to.

Mexico
Fifa rank - 20
Important players - Cuauhtémoc Blanco, Rafa Marquez, Oswaldo Sánchez
Odds of advancing from the group - 5 to 4
Gold Cup Winners - 1993, 1996, 1998, 2003
Mexico is bringing a strong team this year and should be able to handle everyone in the group. However, over confidence might be a factor along with a backline that is not as tight as it should be. That said, all of their matches, except for maybe the final (if they and the US make it there), will seem like home games as their supporters will travel. This is a team that will probably start a little weaker then expected but grow as time goes by.

Panama
Fifa rank - 60
Important players - Jose Luis Garces, Ricardo Phillips
Odds of advancing from the group - 4 to 1
Two years ago, Panama took advantage of other teams weak rosters and made it to the finals where they almost toped the US. This year, they will not have as much luck. With 2005 goal scorers Jorge Dely Valdés retired and Luis Tejada off the roster, they will be hard pressed to find the net. If Honduras stumbles, Panama stands a good chance of moving along.

Predictions: Me - 1.Mexico 2.Honduras 3.Panama 4.Cuba
Wife - 1.Mexico 2.Panama 3.Cuba 4.Honduras

Schedule:
In New York
June 8 - Panama v Honduras (7pm ET/4pm PT - TV Galavision), Mexico v Cuba (9pm ET/6pm PT - TV - Univision)
June 10 - Honduras v Mexico (4pm ET/1pm PT - TV - Univision), Panama v Cuba (6pm ET/3pm PT - TV Galavision)
In Houston
June 13 - Cuba v Honduras (8pm ET/5pm PT - TV - Telefutura), Mexico v Panama (10pm ET/7pm PT - TV - Univision)

Labels: , , , , , ,

4 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

very nice, i am from honduras and i agree with your positions

4:32 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

honduras beat mexico and they will go through - dont underestimate them !

10:54 AM  
Blogger Eyra said...

I guess you underestimated the central american countries as Honduras, Panama, and even Costa Rica are pulling the punches this time. America and Mexico better worry.

5:14 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Panama is not central america anyways, i see that there was a gay person in Honduras kissing one of the Mexican players I am from Brazil I think that central Americans are dirty players in the field the reason they win is because they are cry babies.

8:50 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home