Friday, March 31, 2006

Refs for World Cup named

FIFA has released the names of the 23 referees that will officiate this summer’s finals. The 23 number is much lower then what people thought it would be. During the last Cup, 36 referees were used. This time, many thought the number would be closer to 30, however FIFA thinks differently.

Seven others were named as 'support' refs, but they will only see action if one of the 23 become ill or injured.

Of the 23, 3 are from CONCACAF, 10 are from Europe, 2 from Africa, 5 from South America and 3 are from Asia (I'm including Australia in this group). None are from the US.

Here is the full list:

Essam Abd El Fatah (Egypt)
Carlos Amarilla (Paraguay)
Benito Archundia (Mexico)
Carlos Batres (Guatemala)
Massimo Busacca (Switzerland)

Coffi Codjia (Benin)
Frank De Bleeckere (Belgium)
Massimo de Santis (Italy)
Horacio Elizondo (Argentina)
Valentin Ivanov (Russia)

Toru Kamikawa (Japan)
Jorge Larrionda (Uruguay)
Shamsul Maidin (Singapore)
Manuel Mejuto Gonzalez (Spain)
Markus Merk (Germany)

Lubos Michel (Slovakia)
Graham Poll (England)
Eric Poulat (France)
Peter Prendergast (Jamaica)
Oscar Ruiz (Colombia)

Mark Shield (Australia)
Carlos Simon (Brazil)
Kyros Vassaras (Greece)



Anonymous john said...

Prendergast grrrrrrrr

10:25 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home